Mogens Schou Awards

The tradition of the Mogens Schou Award began at the International Conference on Bipolar Disorders (ICBD) in recognition of Mogens Schou, MD for his establishment of the first efficacious treatment for bipolar disorder and for his contributions to the field of psychiatry and the treatment of bipolar disorder over his lifetime.  The Award, initiated by the course directors of the ICBD, has become an ongoing feature of the annual meetings of the ISBD. 


The Mogens Schou Awards recognize achievement in the following three categories:

  1. Research
  2. Education and Teaching
  3. Public Service and Advocacy


Candidates must be nominated and supported by current ISBD members. The nomination period for 2019 is currently open through August 1, 2018

Mogens Schou Award Winners


  • Research: Janusz Rybakowski, MD
  • Education and Teaching: Beny Lafer, MD 
  • Public Service and Advocacy: Kyooseob Ha, MD, PhD


  • Research: Robert Post, MD
  • Education and Teaching: Sergio Strejilevich, MD
  • Public Service and Advocacy: Randi Silverman


  • Research: Martin Alda, MD, FRCPC
  • Education and Teaching: Mauricio Tohen, MD, DrPH, MBA
  • Public Service and Advocacy: MaryLou Selo


  • Research: Paul Grof, MD, PhD, FRCP
  • Education and Teaching: Gin Malhi, MD, PhD
  • Public Service and Advocacy: Erin Michalak, PhD


  • Research: Carlos A. Zarate, MD
  • Education and Advocacy: Flavio Kapczinski, MD, PhD
  • Public Service: Depression and Bipolar Support Alliance (DBSA)


  • Research: Marion Leboyer, MD
  • Education and Advocacy: Mark Frye, MD
  • Public Service: Muffy Walker


  • Research: Guy Goodwin, MD
  • Education and Advocacy: Lakshmi Yatham, MD, MBA
  • Public Service: Joyce and Dusty Sang


  • Research: Francesc Colom, PsyD, MSc, PhD
  • Research: Eduard Vieta, MD, PhD
  • Education and Advocacy: Adriano Camargo
  • Public Service: John McManamy, LLB


  • Research: David J. Miklowitz, Phd
  • Education and Advocacy: Paolo Lucio Morselli, MD
  • Distinguished Service: Samuel Gershon, MD


  • Research: Husseini K. Manji, MD
  • Education: Kay Jamison, PhD
  • Distinguished Service: Waltraud Prechter


  • Research: Jules Angst, MD
  • Distinguished Service: Vada and Ted Stanley
  • Founder's Award: Mogens Schou, MD, Dr.Med.Sci