ISBD Best Paper of the Year Award

The International Society for Bipolar Disorders recognizes and promotes the most highly regarded manuscripts published in our journal, Bipolar Disorders, each year with the Best Paper of the Year Award. First presented in 2015, the Award reflects the exceptional work of the winners as well as the quality and reputation of the journal. 

In a collaboration between ISBD and Bipolar Disorders, papers are evaluated by a panel of judges selected by the leadership of both organizations under the auspices of the ISBD Awards Committee. The authors of the top three manuscripts—a winner and two runners up—are celebrated during the ISBD Awards Ceremony on the opening day of our annual conference. 

ISBD actively promotes the award-winning manuscripts to its members and chapters as part of our dedication to offering high quality educational content. In an effort to increase exposure for these superb works, ISBD has arranged for the articles to be made freely available on the John Wiley and Sons website for up to one year from the Awards presentation.

2016 Winners:

1st Place - Celecoxib adjunctive therapy for acute bipolar mania: a randomized, double-blind, placebo-controlled trial

Somayeh Arabzadeh, Niusha Ameli, Atefeh Zeinoddini, Farzin Rezaei, Mehdi Farokhnia, Payam Mohammadinejad, Ali Ghaleiha and Shahin Akhondzadeh

2nd Place - Longer lithium exposure is associated with better white matter integrity in older adults with bipolar disorder

Ariel G Gildengers, Meryl A Butters, Howard J Aizenstein, Megan M Marron, James Emanuel, Stewart J Anderson, Lisa A Weissfeld, James T Becker, Oscar L Lopez, Benoit H Mulsant and Charles F Reynolds III

3rd Place - Life expectancy in bipolar disorder

Lars Vedel Kessing, Eleni Vradi and Per Kragh Andersen

2015 Winners:

1st Place - Type and duration of subsyndromal symptoms in youth with bipolar I disorders prior to their first manic episode

Christoph U Correll, Marta Hauser, Julie B Penzner, Andrea M Auther, Vivian Kafantaris, Ema Saito, Doreen Olvet, Ricardo E Carrión, Boris Birmaher, Kiki D Chang, Melissa P DelBello, Manpreet K Singh, Mani Pavuluri and Barbara A Cornblatt

2nd Place -  A five-year follow-up study of neurocognitive functioning in bipolar disorders

José Luis Santos, Ana Aparicio, Alexandra Bagney, Eva María Sánchez-Morla, Roberto Rodríguez-Jiménez, Jorge Mateo and Miguel Ángel Jiménez-Arriero

3rd Place - Polymorphism of circadian clock genes and prophylactic lithium response

Janusz K Rybakowski, Monika Dmitrzak-Weglarz, Sebastian Kliwicki and Joanna Hauser